vacations with pay. It promotes joint consultation in industry through labour-management committees; organizes manpower utilization programs, e.g., farm labour; and operates a Women's Bureau. The Department publishes the *Labour Gazette* and other publications, as well as general information on labour-management, employment, manpower and related subjects.

The Canada Labour Relations Board acts on behalf of, and the National Technical and Vocational Training Advisory Council and the National Advisory Council on Rehabilitation of Disabled Persons act in an advisory capacity to the Minister of Labour, and the Merchant Seamen Compensation Board reports to the Minister of Labour. The Department is the official liaison agency between the Canadian Government and the International Labour Organization. The Unemployment Insurance Commission, which maintains the National Employment Service, reports to Parliament through the Minister of Labour. The National Productivity Council reports through the Ministers of Labour and of Trade and Commerce.

Library of Parliament.—The Library of Parliament as such was established in 1871 (SC 1871, c. 21) although it existed earlier. It currently functions under RSC 1952, c. 166 and SC 1955, c. 35. The Library of Parliament keeps all books, maps and other articles that are in the joint possession of the Senate and the House of Commons. The Parliamentary Librarian is also responsible for the House of Commons Reading Room. Persons entitled to borrow books from the Library of Parliament are the Governor General, Members of the Privy Council, Members of the Senate and the House of Commons, Officers of the two Houses, Justices of the Supreme Court of Canada and the Exchequer Court, and members of the Press Gallery. In addition, books are lent to other libraries and government agencies and reference service is given to scholars. The Parliamentary Librarian has the rank of a Deputy Head of a Department and is responsible for the control and management of the Library under the Speaker of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Commons assisted by a Joint Committee appointed by the two Houses.

Department of Mines and Technical Surveys.—This Department was created by an Act of Parliament (SC 1949, c. 17) which received Royal Assent on Dec. 10, 1949. Its establishment resulted from the reorganization of certain former departments. A primary function of the Department is to provide technological assistance in the development of Canada's mineral resources through investigations and research in the fields of geology, mineral dressing and metallurgy. The Department establishes the framework of surveys throughout the country that provides control for all surveying and mapping in Canada. It produces the base maps used in the development of Canada's natural resources, conducts all the charting of Canada's coastal and inland waters, and issues official sailing directions and Canadian sea and air navigation charts. The Department is under the Minister of Mines and Technical Surveys and is divided into six branches: the Surveys and Mapping Branch, the Marine Sciences Branch, the Geological Survey of Canada, the Mines Branch, the Dominion Observatories and the Geographical Branch. The Mineral Resources Division, a unit of head office, gives its whole attention to matters concerned with the economics of mineral resources development.

Major moves were made recently to implement the oceanography program: (1) the establishment of the Polar Continental Shelf Project to carry out a long-term investigation of the continental shelf lying north and west of the Canadian Arctic Archipelago and of the waters above it, together with the islands of the Archipelago and the straits and sounds between the islands; and (2) the setting up of a \$4,500,000 oceanographic institute in the Bedford Basin near Halifax with facilities for study in any phase of the science. The Department's Marine Sciences Branch was established in April 1962.

The Department administers the Explosives Act which regulates the manufacture, testing, sale, storage and importation of explosives, and the Emergency Gold Mining Assistance Act which provides cost-aid to the Canadian gold mining industry.

Boards and Commissions are: Canadian Permanent Committee on Geographical Names; Board of Examiners for Dominion Land Surveyors; the International Boundary Commission; and the Interprovincial Boundary Commissions. The Minister of Mines and Technical Surveys reports to Parliament for the Dominion Coal Board.

Department of National Defence.—The Department of National Defence was established on Jan. 1, 1923 by the Department of National Defence Act, 1922, and was an amalgamation of the Department of Militia and Defence, the Naval Service and the Air Board. The Department and the Canadian Forces (the Royal Canadian Navy, the Canadian Army and the Royal Canadian Air Force) now operate under the National Defence Act, 1950 (RSC 1952, c. 184).

In 1940 additional Ministers for Naval and Air Services were appointed and the Department was organized under a Minister of National Defence and two additional Ministers so that there was a Minister and staff for each of the Armed Services. Upon demobilization of the wartime Forces the appointment of Ministers of National Defence for Naval Services and Air Services ceased, and the Armed Forces were, in 1946, again administered by the Minister of National Defence without additional Ministers. Under the National Defence Act, the Canadian Forces are being administered solely by the Minister of National Defence and the Associate Minister of National Defence.